King of Limbs v1.2?

It’d been almost 5 years since Radiohead suddenly released their King of Limbs LP online. It was even accompanied by a free newspaper if you happened to be outside the right record shop at the right time, as well as a tonne of merchandise for those buying the physical copy.

Vinyl King of Limbs
The author’s vinyl copy.
As a Radiohead fan, I’d never mock the quality of the songs in spite of the album’s understandable lukewarm reception. They are excellent. But, as with many Radiohead albums the tracks don’t always sit together well. The King of Limbs grated on me with its meagre offering of just 8 tracks, having an almost EP feel to it as if it were a short collection of unrelated songs (who remembers My Iron Lung?).

There was some speculation about a followup companion album, but it never materialised. Instead we got a free non-album single “These are my Twisted Words” which preceded the album, and two follow-up double A-Side singles (“Supercollider / The Butcher” and “The Daily Mail / Staircase”, the latter of Nigel Godrich’s From the Basement sessions).

To complicate the chronology even more, Radiohead had released the beautiful “Harry Patch (In Memory Of)” bridging the gap between In Rainbows and The King of Limbs.

To me, it felt like they’d pushed out The King of Limbs early, with missing pieces of the jigsaw. So as a retrospective I did one of those debatable things which fans often do, which is to rearrange a definitive album into something better.

So, I present to you a fuller 14 track incarnation of The King of Limbs:

  1. Bloom
  2. Supercollider
  3. Little by Little
  4. The Daily Mail
  5. Morning Mr Magpie
  6. Feral
  7. The Butcher
  8. Lotus Flower
  9. Staircase
  10. These are my Twisted Words
  11. Codex
  12. Give up the Ghost
  13. Separator
  14. Harry Patch (In Memory Of)

Of course, I’m excited for 2016 since we’re most likely about to get another sudden release of new Radiohead material. We’ve already been gifted this unreleased Bond theme tune, plus Thom Yorke was spotted showing off three new songs in Paris!

Yup, it’s going to be a good year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: